Event| Screen Nation Awards – The Winners

Ria Hebden interviewing Idris Elba for SceneTV at the Screen Nation Awards 2015
The Screen Nation Film & Television Awards, which has come to be known as the ‘black Bafta’s’, took place on Sunday 15th February 2015 at the Hilton London Metropole hotel. Famed BBC London News Arts Correspondent Brenda Emmanus hosted the show alongside singer & actor Victor Romero Evans. The glitzy ceremony celebrated a decade of outstanding achievements on the British screen by many of the nation’s best loved film & TV stars. ABN TV (Sky235) will broadcast highlights of the ceremony at 11pm Saturday 28th February 2015.

A host of stars and top talent from TV, film, sports and media were present including: Idris Elba, Nathalie Emmanuel, Aml Ameen, Jamelia, Sarah Jane Crawford, Sean Cronin, Rebecca Scroggs, Patrick Robinson, Chizzy Akudolu, Petra Letang, Amma Asante, Mo Ali, Don Gilet, Laura Rollins, Lorna Laidlaw, Fiona Wade, Danny John Jules, Don Warrington, Amanda Foster, Daniel Lawrence, Taylor, Tobi Bakare, Shavani Seth, Charlene White, Junior Giscombe, Don-e, Loose Ends, Karen Bryson, Arnold Oceng, Sara Martin, Asif Zubairy, Michelle Matherson, Modupe Adeyeye, Denise Nurse, Jasmine Dotiwala, OT Fagbenle, Samuel Anderson, Fabrice Muamba and many more.

Founder & CEO of Screen Nation, Charles Thompson MBE said:
"How we think about ourselves is the most important thing. The statements tonight by David Oyelowo and Idris Elba show that they’re committed to bringing the message of British talent around the world. That’s why ten years ago David Oyelowo was nominated for emerging talent. When no one knew who Idris was we were nominating him for The Wire. We know excellence is possible and achievable. If we work with our colleagues around the world we will win for Britain. We’re not diversity quota anymore and never have been! We’re mainstream!!"
See below for the full list of winners and look out for SceneTV coverage on the night.

Rising Talent
Aaron Fontaine – Actor in Hollyoaks
Antonia Thomas – Scrotal Recall
Georgina Bobb – Producer/Entrepreneur
Nosa Igbinedion – Director WINNER
Tarah Welsh – New Reporter on BBC LOndon
Royce Pierreson – Actor in Murdered by my Boyfriend, Misfits
Ryan Calais Cameron – Actor in various
Young Shooting Star (16-25)
Ade Oyefoso – Youngers, Silk
Georgina Campbell – Murdered by My Boyfriend WINNER
Jacob Anderson – Game of Thrones, Mimic
McKell David – Montana
Modupe Adeyeye – Hollyoaks
Rebecca Scroggs – Eastenders
Favourite Female TV Star
Denise Nurse – Escape to the Country
Jamelia – Loose Women
Lorna Laidlaw – Doctors
Rochelle Humes – This Morning, Children in Need, etc
Sandra Martin & Sandy Channer – Gogglebox
Sarah Jane Crawford – X Factor WINNER
Favourite Male TV Star
Ade Adepitan – Various WINNER
Marvin Humes – The Voice, This Morning
Reggie Yates – Various
Richard Ayoade – Various
Simon Webbe – Strictly Come Dancing
Female Performance in Film
Gugu Mbatha-Raw – Belle WINNER
Nadine Marshall – Second Coming
Carmen Ejogo – Selma
Male Performance in Film
Aml Ameen – Maze Runner
Arnold Oceng – The Good Lie
Chiwetel Ejiofor – Half of a Yellow Sun
David Oyelowo – Selma WINNER
Harley Sylvester – The Guvnors
Idris Elba – No Good Deeds
Female Performance in TV
Laura Rollins – Doctors
Letitia Wright – Glasgow Girls
Lorna Laidlaw – Doctors
Nathalie Emmanuel – Game of Thrones
Petra Letang – Holby
Sara Martins – Death in Paradise WINNER
Male Performance in TV
David Gyasi – The Whale
Don Gilet – Holby
OT Fagbenle – Looking
Patrick Robinson – Casualty
Samuel Anderson – Dr Who, Trollied WINNER
Tobi Bakare – The Smoke, The Tunnel
Diversity in Factual Production
Fostering & Me with Lorraine Pascale – BBC2
Nat King Cole: Afraid of the Dark – BBC4 WINNER
Storyville: Mandela, The Myth & Me – BBC2
The Secret Life of Your Clothes – BBC2
The World's War: Forgotten Soldiers of Empire – BBC2
Welcome to Rio – BBC2
Diversity in Drama Production
Death in Paradise – BBC2 WINNER
Doctors – BBC2
Game of Thrones – HBO
Holby – BBC2
Murdered by My Boyfriend – BBC3
Independent Spirit Film Production
Beauty Is WINNER
Hard Time Bus
1 Way Up
Through the Lens of Hip-Hop: UK Women
Achievement in Film Production
Half of a Yellow Sun
The Anomaly
The Double
Favourite International Movie (made by or featuring British talent)
Maze Runner (Aml Ameen)
No Good Deed (Idris Elba)
Selma (David Oyelowo, Carmen Ejogo) WINNER
The Good Lie (Arnold Oceng)
The Whale (Alrick Riley, John Boyega)
Favourite African UK Movie (made by or featuring significantly British based talent)
Afua's Diary – Bibi Owusu-Shadbolt
Double Cross – Ama K. Abebrese
Gone Too Far – Destiny Ekaragha
Invasion 1897- Lancelot Odesuwa Imasuen & J2 Konsult WINNER
Love or Something Like That – Shirley Frimpong Manso
Mum Dad Meet Sam – Segilola Ogidan & Edith Nwekenta
The Devil in Freetown – Archie Collins Pearce
Urban Rythmn – Michael Ibiayo & Yinka Kuponiyi
Favourite Black TV Show (Magazine/Chat show led by a woman)
Culture Vultures (Rosemary Laryea) – OH TV
Family Time (Nana Akosua Boateng) – ABN TV
Ladies Talk (Angie le Mar) – Vox Africa WINNER
Pauline Long Show – BEN TV
Real Talk (Trish Adudu) – OH TV
The Nana Churcher Show – Vox Africa
The Sporah Show (Sporah Njau) – Vox Africa
Favourite UK Afrobeats Music Promo
Fuse ODG ft. Sean Paul – Dangerous Love
Kwamz & Flava – Wo Onane No
May7ven – Werk WINNER
Mista Silva ft Syron – Green Light
Moelogo ft Giggs – Baddest
Zafi B ft Atumpan – Superhero
Favourite Film 
No Good Deed WINNER
Ride Along
The Equalizer
Think Like A Man Too
Favourite Female Screen Personality
Ava Duvernay WINNER
Gabrielle Union
Kerry Washington
Shonda Rhimes
Viola Davis
Favourite Male Screen Personality
Anthony Mackie
Denzel Washington WINNER
Forest Whittaker
Kevin Hart
Tyler Perry
Honorary Awards were bestowed upon;
Outstanding Contribution Award
Harry Belafonte theAfrican-American singer, songwriter, actor and social activist.
Edric Connor Trailblazer Award
Anton Phillips the iconic British actor, producer and director, who has an acting career in Britain that broke many racial barriers.
Legacy Award
Ossie Davis and Ruby Dee (posthumously) Hollywood’s hugely respected and much loved ‘black power’ couple and civil rights activists.
Classic TV Award
Fresh Prince of Bel-air the iconic comedy series that launched Will Smith’s acting career is acknowledged as it reaches its 25th anniversary.
The Awards were sponsored and partnered by BBC, ITV, ABN TV, Tama Ra Event Designers, New African Woman Magazine, SceneTV, AfricaX5, DJA Media, Hilton, Suba App, GUBA, Kato Enterprises, Ultimalt, Star Lager, Guinness FE and Talking Drum Entertainment     

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *