News| BBC Writersroom Announces 15 Writers Selected for Comedy Room 2015


via BBC Media Centre

BBC Writersroom has kicked off Comedy Room 2015 – a development pool of 15 up-and-coming writers who have been selected from Writersroom open talent searches, alongside input from BBC Comedy (TV and radio). 

The aim of the scheme is to encourage and develop the best in new comedy writing and to help these writers to build strong connections within BBC Comedy.The talented 15, will receive targeted training and development for six months, including workshops, masterclasses and networking events.

Anne Edyvean, Head of the BBC Writersroom, says: “The creation of Comedy Room is a way of answering the question, ‘How do we best support emerging writing talent in Comedy?’ We decided on regular, structured teaching; introductions to key people in BBC Comedy; workshops; and script support for a hand-picked group of writers, over a limited time-period, in conjunction with BBC Radio and TV Comedy.”

The selected writers are:

  • Christine Robertson
  • Paul Parncutt
  • Laurence Tratalos
  • Tez Ilyas
  • Ryan Grant      
  • Sally Stott
  • Lolly Adefope
  • Samuel de Ceccatty & Stuart Benson
  • Mat Rees & Joanne Lau
  • Michael Beck
  • Lee Coan
  • Shai Hussain
  • Shazad Mohammed
  • Patrick Coyle
  • Tracy Brabin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *