Watch | Michaela Coel wins BAFTA Television Craft Award [Acceptance Speech]

Reposted from BAFTA

The winners of the British Academy Television Craft Awards were announced at a ceremony hosted by Stephen Mangan at The Brewery, London, on Sunday 24 April 2016. A broad range of programmes broadcast in 2015 were honoured at the event, with six taking home two BAFTAs across fiction, factual and entertainment.

Set in the 1940s, The Dresser, starring Ian McKellen and Anthony Hopkins was successful in both Costume Design and Make Up & Hair Design. Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell received two BAFTAs for its depiction of a supernatural 19th century England in Production Design and Special, Visual & Graphic Effects. Completing the evening’s journey through the centuries was Wolf Hall, depicting the rise of Thomas Cromwell in King Henry VIII’s court, which won for both Editing: Fiction and Sound: Fiction.

The awards for Entertainment Craft Team and Director: Multi-Camera went to The Sound of Music Live! for its ambitious adaption of the iconic musical, while dramatic documentary The Murder Detectives, following a real-life police investigation, won in the Director: Factual and Editing Factual categories. The Hunt received two BAFTAs, for Photography: Factual and Original Music, the first time since 2002 that an award for music has gone to a factual production. 

Shane Meadows cemented his status as one of the UK’s foremost writer-directors, with success in the Director: Fiction category for This is England ’90 – his third BAFTA to date. Cucumber, the series which explored the passions and pitfalls of gay life by Russell T Davies, was successful in Writer: Drama, marking the fourth BAFTA win of his career. In the Writer: Comedy category, Rob Delaney and Sharon Horgan each won their first BAFTA with their sitcom Catastrophe, also receiving a BAFTA for his first nomination was Laurie Rose, who picked up the Photography & Lighting: Fiction award for London Spy. 

BAFTA continues to shine a spotlight on the very best emerging talent in the industry with its Breakthrough Talent category, won this year by Michaela Coel for Chewing Gum.  Watch her acceptance speech above. 

The award for Digital Creativity, which rewards excellence and innovation in offering audiences a multi-platform television experience, was won by Humans – Persona Synthetics, while the BAFTA for Titles & Graphic Identity went to Momoco for Fortitude. The award for Sound: Factual was presented to VE Day 70: The Nation Remembers, the full live coverage from St James’s Park in London of the final day of the 70th anniversary commemorations to mark VE Day. 

Industry-renowned casting director Nina Gold was presented with the BAFTA Special Award for her outstanding contribution to casting. Gold has cast across over 100 television and film productions including Game of Thrones, London Spy, Wolf Hall, The Crown, The Dresser, John Adams, The King’s Speech, The Imitation Game, The Theory of Everything and Star Wars Episode VII: The Force Awakens. Gold’s award was presented to her by Jim Broadbent and Stanley Tucci

Click here to see the full list of winners and here for more acceptance videos from Nina Gold, Shane Meadows, Rob Delaney, Sharon Horgan and more. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *