Awards | Hood Documentary, A Lesson Learnt, 3 Shots of Tequila & Fully Focused win big at the Screen Nation Digital-iS Media Awards


Cast of A Lesson Learnt : Richard Pascoe Photography / Digital iS Media Awards 2016  

On Sunday, a host of creators came together at The May Fair Hotel for the third annual Screen Nation Digital–iS Media Awards. Hosted by Joivan Wade (Doctor Who, E4 Youngers and Wall of Comedy), Percelle ‘Percy’ Ascott (Silent Witness, Wizards v Aliens, and Wall of Comedy) and Dee Kaate (Wall of Comedy), the glamourous ceremony was well attended with Noel Clarke and Naughty Boy presenting two of the awards. SceneTV, the official online media partner of the awards, were on deck to capture all of the behind-the-scenes gossip – look out for coverage later this week. 


Fully Focused team with Channel 4 Talent Executive Priscilla Baffour: Richard Pascoe Photography / Digital iS Media Awards 2016  


Founder of SceneTV Michelle Owusu and Tyrell Williams & Reynold Maunze, creators of Hood Documentary: Richard Pascoe Photography / Digital iS Media Awards 2016  

Hood Documentary were the big winners on the night taking home two awards for Favourite Web Series and Best Web Series Actor, which went to Kayode Ewumi. The spoof documentary follows wannabe Grime MC Roll Safe as he guides viewers around the 'hood'. Gal Dem, who recently held a much talked-about event at the V&A went home with the Favourite Arts & Entertainment/Lifestyle Site/Mag Awards and Favourite Web Series Actress to Ola Adaeze, star of Boxx. Favourite short film went to Deep It, produced by Fully Focused and starring Joivan Wade and Percelle Ascott.


Gal Dem – winners of the Favourite Arts & Entertainment/Lifestyle Site : Richard Pascoe Photography / Digital iS Media Awards 2016  


Duane Jones of Not for the Radio with music artist Jodie Abacus: Richard Pascoe Photography / Digital iS Media Awards 2016  

A Dot Comedian, known for his theatre shows, MTV and ITV credits, won Favourite Online Comedian. Breaking the mould in radio broadcast were winners Not For The Radio who picked up Favourite Online Talk Show, which was presented by Jodie Abacus, the hot new soul sensation named by Elton John as 'one to watch' for 2017. The coveted Favourite Web Series Ensemble Award was went to A Lesson Learnt, presented by actor Kofi Abrefa, best known for treading the boards at The National (A Taste of Honey) and staring in Channel 4’s Humans. In a brand new category, 3 Shots of Tequila took home the award for Favourite Podcast.


Keith Dube and Tazer Black of 3 Shots of Tequila: Richard Pascoe Photography / Digital iS Media Awards 2016  


Michelle Owusu, founder of SceneTV – the official online media partner to the Screen Nation Awards: Richard Pascoe Photography / Digital iS Media Awards 2016  

The Awards, now in their third year, were established to celebrate innovative Black talent in new media: app creators, gamers, web show creators and content makers, who write, cast, record and edit on mobile devices, create their channels on YouTube, then promote their work via social networks such as Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, Snapchat, Periscope and others. 

Other winners included the honorary Digital Achievement Award, which went to serial entrepreneur and CEO Steve Bartlett of Europe’s largest social marketing agency, Social Chain and Fanbytes, duo Tim Armoo and Ambrose Cooke. These innovators count Disney, adidas, New Look, GoPro and Nickelodeon as their clients.

See below for the full list of winners: 

Favourite Web Series Actor 

Ishmael Majid – Levelz

Kayode Ewumi – Hood Documentary – WINNER

Khaleb Brooks – Boxx

King Cas – New Skool Life

Kingsley Amadi – Spin (Season Finale)

Michael Gyekye – How Did We Get Here

Stephen Boyce – How Did We Get Here

Sylvester Akinrolabu – A Lesson Learnt


Favourite Web Series Actress

Olu Adaeze – Boxx – WINNER

Joanne Sandi – A Lesson Learnt, TV Footballers 

Kamara Bacchus – How Did We Get Here

Linda Adey – Dear Jesus

Natalie Gumede – Sally the Life Coach

Scarlett Carter – A Lesson Learnt

Vanessa Donovan – Shrink


Favourite Web Series Ensemble

A Lesson Learnt S1 – Wondervision Films – WINNER

Boxx S1 – Joi Productions in Assn with Plot Lost Prods

Concealed S1 – Sandra Koree/Clever Lens Media Production

Dear Jesus S4 – Wonderlondon

Levelz S1 – Paul Opara, Shawn John, Malik Marli/Ezeo Media

New Skool Life S1 – Street Seven Films

Spin S2 (Season Finale) – Spin Drama TV


Favourite Web Series

Hood Documentary S1 – Tryrell Williams/TkCreatives – WINNER

A Lesson Learnt S1 – Priscilla Owusu, Danny Wonders/Wondervision Films

Boxx S1 – Joy Gharoro-Akpojotor, Yrsa Daley-Ward/Joi Productions in Assn with Plot Lost Prods

Dear Jesus S4 – Danielle A Scott-Haughton/Wonderlondon

Hot Pepper S1 – Destiny Ekaragha/2far Films

How Did We Get Here S2 – Cardy Films/Bwng

Shrink S1 – Katrina Smith Jackson, Trish M. Chanda/Auteur Vision Media

TV Footballers S1 – Matthew Allick, Chris Alozie/Allick Productions


Favourite Short Film

Deep It – Dir. Teddy Nygh / Prod Nick Bedu -WINNER

Fabric of The Royals – Dir./Wri. Verona Rose

New Beginnings – Dir Nicole Volavka 

The Works – Dir./Wri. Elliot Barnes-Worrell

Wild in the Wind – Dir./Wri. Ejiro Okorodudu

Wilton – Dir./Wri. Cecile Emeke 


Favourite Online Comedian

A Dot Comedian WINNER

Arnold Jorge

Ds Rants'n'Bants

Tommy Moutchi

Uncle Rafool


Favourite Podcast

3 Shots Of Tequila – WINNER

Artistic State Of Mind –

Half Cast/Chuckie Online –

Melanin Millennials –

Mostly Lit –

Tea And Biscuits –


Favourite Online Talk Show

Not For The Radio – – WINNER

Straight No Chaser –


Favourite Arts & Entertainment/Lifestyle Site/Mag

Gal Dem – WINNER

Afridiziak –

Black Ballad –

Levile –

The British Blacklist –

The Colour Network –


FavouriteYouth Entertainment/Lifestyle Site/Mag


Flavourmag –

Link Up TV –

New Wave District –

The Young Empire –


Digital Achievement (honorary)

Steven Bartlett

Timothy Armoo & Ambrose Cooke

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *