Watch| 2013 Screen Nation Digital-iS Media Awards Winners Announced!

The winners of the inaugural Screen Nation Digital-iS Media Awards presented in conjunction with Vox Africa (Sky218 ) and sponsored by Google and Afrinolly were announced at Google HQ London on Tuesday 17th December. The awards celebrated the best online content produced by black British and international digital media creatives across short film, web series, music promos, blogs, magazines, social networks and more. 

Presented by James Sherwood (Afrobuzz on Vox Africa), the glittering ceremony saw a host of recognisable faces from the online space while guest presenters included Laurence Olivier award winning writer Bola Agbaje, entrepreneur and Editor-in-Chief at OK! Nigeria Alexander Amosu, actress Caroline Chikezie, filmmaker Obi Emelonye, Google’s Sade Salami, Screen Nation Emerging Talent – director Destiny Ekaragha and actor Arnold Oceng. So who picked up an award? See below for the full list of winners. You can also watch the awards, which were screened live on Google Hangout, above or catch a highlights special of the event including exclusive behind the scenes footages and interviews this Saturday 21st December 2013, 8:30pm on Sky 218 and 9.30pm On DSTV 191. 

Favourite Web Series Actor:

·         Kingsley Amadi (Spin)

·         Michael Salami (Spin)

·         Samuell Benta (All About The McKenzies)

·         Wil Johnson (Sokorates)

·         Zephryn Taitte (Brothers With No Game) – WINNER


Favourite Web Series Actress:

·         Busayo Ige (Unfamous)

·         Letitia Hector (Venus vs Mars) – WINNER

·         Linda Adey (Dear Jesus)

·         Ria Horsford (All About The McKenzies)

·         Segilola Scott (Breach)

·         Tanya Vital (Sokorates)


Favourite Web Series Ensemble:

·         All About The McKenzies

·         Breach

·         Brothers With No Game – WINNER

·         Spin

·         Unfamous  


Favourite Web Series:

·         All About The McKenzies

·         Brothers With No Game

·         Dear Jesus

·         Redemptions End

·         Sokorates

·         Spin

·         Unfamous

·         Venus vs Mars – WINNER


Favourite Short Film (judged by attendees on the day)

·         12 The Damaged Race (Aml Ameen)

·         Illegal Activity (Sebastian Thiel) – WINNER

·         Jonah (Kibwe Tavare)

·         Sorry We Don’t Help Darkies (Travis Watson)

·         The Block (Michael Gouken Omonua)


Favourite Music Promo produced by Luti Media

·         Little Mix ft. Missy Elliot – How Ya Doing (Produced by Amalia Rosen Rawlings,

·         Directed by Carly Cussen)

·         Lemar – Invincible (Produced by Amalia Rosen Rawlings, Directed by Carly

·         Cussen)

·         JLS – Do You Feel What I Feel (Produced by Luti Fagbenle, Directed by

·         Marcus Lundin)

·         Angel – The World (Produced by Ayo Davis, Directed by Director X)

·         Daps – Ian Wright (Produced by Luti Fagbenle, Directed by Fabien Montique) – WINNER


Favourite Youth Entertainment/Lifestyle Site/Mag

·         Flavour

·         GRM Daily

·         Its Upshot

·         Link Up TV

·         Rep Dat

·         SB.TV – WINNER

·         Soul Culture


 Favourite Arts & Entertainment/Lifestyle Site/Mag

·         Afridiziak

·         ItsBlackcurrent

·         Mad News

·         Pappzd

·         The British Blacklist

·         The LaLa Report – WINNER

Honorary Digital Vanguard Awards were also presented to Luti Fagbenle one of the UK’s top digital producers and founder of LUTI MEDIA and Jamal Edwards, founder and CEO of SB.TV – the UK’s leading online youth broadcaster. These awards celebrate two young digital titans who have blazed a trail and showed us all that there are great opportunities in the digital domain. It is a thought that summed up the evening and shone a light on the waves that many creatives are making in the digital space. Screen Nation CEO Charles Thompson MBE said:

“These awards clearly demonstrate the wealth of talent operating in the digital arena. It’s now more important than ever that online content and platforms are celebrated in the same way as traditional media as digital is the way forward. We look forward to seeing the talent and success 2014 will bring.”

Congrats to Screen Nation, Vox Africa and all of the nominees and winners – SceneTV were honoured to be a part of it all. 

Roll on 2014!

For regular news, updates and opportunities, follow us on Twitter at @Scene_TV and 'Like' the Facebook page:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *